This week’s homework was to work with flash and my good friend Juhi stepped up to the plate to ‘model’ for me…. you can just about make out on the flash on rims  and the glass of his glasses in certain pictures (but as the flashgun was angled away from him, this reduced the opportunity for the reflecting glare and softened the harshness of using the flash at the same time … no retouching any these pictures… 100% natural!

So thanks again Juhi, your modelling services will no doubt be called upon at other times in this course… you have been warned!!!!

I also shot a few selfies, to demonstrate the use of flash outdoors, both using the on flash diffuser and without – again no retouching….

image

f5 1/10 ISO 100 45mm and this one was cropped slightly. Given the depth of field, I got a good blurring of the background which is included in all the following photographs. 

image

f5 1/6 ISO 100 45mm Juhi looking more contemplative….

image

f4 1/6 ISO 100 30mm I now realise that I inadvertently focused on his hand instead of his face, hence the blur. 

image

f5 1/6 ISO 100 48mm

image

f4 1/10 ISO 100 50mm lens indirect flash – yep… normal serious looking me :). I never really noticed that one eye is distinctly larger than the other… or I’ve just got a better squinting technique!!!!

image

f4 1/10 ISO 100 50mm lens indirect flash

image

f4 1/10 ISO 100 50mm lens direct flash – You can see the effect of the flash here, creating distinct highlights on my forehead and upper cheeks. 

image

f4 1/10 ISO 100 50mm lens direct flash with the flash diffuser on – Here i have moved more into the natural light.. so even with the diffuser on, there are clear flash highlights on my head, forehead, nose and upper cheeks. 

