The purpose of
this assignment is to:

  • Explore urban photography.
  • Use a digital or film camera to explore a theme and aesthetic and creative opportunities that location photography can offer.

What you need to hand in at the end:

·
A
sketchbook/notebook or a blog complete with annotations, images, contact
sheets, ideas, thoughts, and research (photographs which inspire you,
photographers you have looked at). This can be built up over the term during
class and at home.

·
3 images for
task 1 – at least 6×9 inches

·
3 images for
task 2 – at least 6×9 inches

·
Review from the
exhibition

·
5 images for
task 4 – at least 6×9 inches

 

An
evaluation of your project. This can be written in your sketchbook or a blog

 

I chose this this
title, as I wanted to represent the calm of Northala Hills against
the urban hustle of the nearby A40 – and one of the pictures in Task 3
demonstrates the proximity of urban life to the relaxation of the park. I
wanted to show how local residents use this green space to its full potential.
Given the time span for the project, I am not able to show how it is used in
the winter, spring and summer, so you’ll only have the autumn perspective. I
have also included at least one picture from my own private oasis, my garden.

For this project, I did not conduct any direct research in terms of photographers or photographic work that influenced the pictures I took, but from my blog you will see that I have looked and referred to the work of several photographers and artists that inspired me in a general way.

I have not posted the camera data for these pictures as many of them are on the blog with that information already included.

My exhibition reviews are: 

  1. Portrait Salon 15 – Embassy Tea Gallery visit on 21.11.2015;
  2. World Press Photo 2015 – Royal Festival Hall and Photographers Gallery visit on 19.11.2015; and
  3. Kara Walker, Forces of Nature and The Gap: Selected Abstract Art from Belgium – Victoria Miro Gallery visit on 17.10.2015.

These reviews are found below within the blog.

Task 1 Depth of field, Selective focus

 

Present a series of 3 images in response to the
title using Depth of field and/or selective focus. Techniques to consider:

·
Working
with aperture to create required depth of field.

·
Working
with manual focus in order to create required focusing point.

·
Record
all the research and development in your workbook

image

I like the first picture of the leaves on the pavement, the most from this trio. It is apparent that this picture was taken at night as you can see the orange colour cast from the streetlights – this is what attracts me to this photograph. I specifically focused on the leaves in the foreground, but not the immediate foreground and to highlight the selective focus. My camera was placed on my bag, close to the ground to provide a ground level perspective.

image

The second picture
is a macro of a blade of grass (large grasses not the regular lawn type) that I
have in bushes in my garden. The dew on the leaves provide an additional
dimension of texture and interest for me. The picture is also monochrome – it’s
all shades of green. There are some minor defects in the picture in relation to
some of the water droplets possibly due to the sensor not being able to
properly process the reflections, which appear (at least on my screen). The
selective focus here is around the middle of the leaf, with the remainder being
purposely blurred.

image

In the final picture of the trio, I was again focusing on the middle of the picture, blurring the foreground and the background. Of the three pictures, in my view this one provides the best perspective of selective focus and depth of field. And although I intended to keep this one in colour, I prefer it in black and white. However, I do think it’s the weakest of the three pictures in terms of composition, despite the better perspective.

In neither of
these pictures were there any health and safety or ethical matters to consider.

