Task 3 Final take

Present a series of 5 images in response to the
title using chosen by you photographic techniques. Allow for your creative
input in any photographic application. You can use any of techniques you are
familiar with. You can research and apply in and off camera manipulation. Record
all the research and development in your workbook. 

These are my final five. I
open with the A40/Northala Hills split just to emphasise my point about this
green space being an oasis. You can see hustle and bustle of urban life with
traffic speeding up and down the dual carriageway. That is contrasted by the
hills and the pictures that show local residents enjoying the peace of an open
space. My camera was mounted on a tripod with the ND filter, as you can see the
blurred movement of the traffic and a person on the extreme right hand side of
the picture. Its not my favourite of the final 5 but is the most project
descriptive of them all.

image

The second shows the
emptiness of this section of the park, with a wooden dragonfly as the main
subject. Normally this would have children running all over it, but I managed
to capture it during a quiet period. I purposely did not include all of the second
wing, because of the perspective I was shooting it from. I was crouched down
but not too low, so there is still an element of it having been shot from
above, but it’s not as extreme as normal standing height. The bare soil towards
the head demonstrate the favourite entry and exit point for children when they “ride
the dragon”
.

image

The third picture is taken
from the same vantage point as the first picture to demonstrate that mere
rotation of the body can take you from urban hustle, to ‘countryside’
relaxation. But you can see the residential buildings in the near distance, so
you do know that you are still within an urban zone, but in an urban oasis. I
like this picture for the range of colours – the trees in greens, reds, yellows
and browns; the green of the grass; the yellow of the climbing frame; the blue
of the pond; red brick and grey concrete – this picture would not as
effectively if it was rendered in black and white.

image

The fourth picture is quite
abstract and is surprisingly one of my favourites, mud wiped on a bench by a
passer by. It’s a simple composition and may not speak much to many people, but
to me it shows an impromptu cleaning ritual before returning home. This picture
reminds of the sepia style that was used way back when, mainly for portraiture
(if I remember correctly) – the various shades of brown. You have the leading diagonal
lines, contrasted by the suggestion of an up and down motion to remove the mud
from the sole of the shoe… explicit and implicit “movement”.

image

My final picture wants to
take you up the hill, following the person in front until you get to the top to
see the vistas of the first and third picture in this series and for you to
look down as some of the pictures in tasks one and two. For me a suitable way
to end the task and this project.

image

Project evaluation:

I found this a
conceptually challenging project – to take what I may see everyday and make
something interesting of it. From deciding what to shoot and what to call the
project, was not something that came overnight. It was more accident than by
design – I focused more on the technical aspects of what was needed and then
moulded that around the theme – once I decided on what it was. I was then more
free to experiment with what I wanted to achieve. This is definitely something
that I could continue with outside of the course and so you may well see more
of West London (Z2 & Z5) on these pages over the coming months. Bring on
the project for term two!!!

And I have to commend my classmates for their interpretations of this project and what they decided to focus on and present in their own blogs – definitely perspectives and work I can learn from and develop in my own way.

