Even though the postcode project has ended and I do not yet know what our next project will be, I have been viewing the work of some photographers online for some general inspiration and a dose of “how do they achieve that look…”

Now those that know me, know that I am not a real fan of paintings… which might come as a surprise as they are as dimensional as photographs, but for whatever reason, my brain just does not see them in the same way and many paintings leave me cold. However, a good friend who will remain nameless is on a crusade to drive out the cultural philistine in me 🙂 and so I get taken to galleries to view paintings.. and I am slowly coming around to seeing how I can actually gain inspiration and ideas from paintings. And the series of work below by Freddy Fabris is one way to draw direct inspiration.

First up is Freddy Fabris – In his Huffington Post interview about the Renaissance Series, he said the following “For many years I wanted to pay homage the great Renaissance masters. Translating painting into photography was a challenge I looked forward to. I wanted to respect the look and feel of the originals, but needed to come up with a conceptual twist that would create a new layer to the original. To take them out of their original context, yet maintain their essence. By chance I came across an old Midwest car shop that triggered this series, the place screamed for something to be shot there, and slowly but steadily ideas started to fall in to place” http://www.huffingtonpost.com/freddy-fabris/the-renaissance-series_b_8342942.html

I love all four of these pictures and am drawn to them for their unintentional (i assume) comedic slant – I do not believe that what Freddy Fabris was trying to achieve was to make fun out of the original paintings or his photographic subjects, but these pictures just bring a smile to my face because of the conceptual twist he has sought to achieve.

image
image
image
image

© Freddy Fabris http://www.fabrisphoto.com/LATEST-WORK/9/caption

The other photographer I came across while doing a search for “black portrait background” was Glyn Dewis. I like many of his portraits and he has a tutorial demonstrating how to get the black background (that you can also see in the work of Freddy Fabris above) in daylight@!!!! So the link to his blog with the tutorial is below as well as the video and his 500px portfolio page.

https://www.glyndewis.com/the-invisible-black-backdrop-photography-technique/

https://500px.com/glyndewis

And you can sense that I am on a real portrait trip as the final photography for this post is Lee Jeffries who again utilises the black background for his portraiture, although I do not know whether this is studio work or outdoor… but I suspect its a mixture of both. In any event, I have found his work to be very emotional, raw and challenging. I wonder what you think?

https://500px.com/leejeffries

So once I get my new flash gun and wireless trigger, I want to start experimenting with this and will post my results.

