In my rush to leave the house in the morning, I forgot to pack the red shoes (that I have posted pictures of earlier in the blog) for the class session today. So on my way to class I popped into Tiger to see whether they had anything I could use. I didn’t find anything melamine related, but did come across a cute pair of hedgehog slippers that I knew my niece would love once I had finished taking pictures with them.

We had a studio set up in class with three lights, two with soft boxes on the left and right of the product and a high positioned light with white umbrella in the centre. We adjusted the power of the light to make the background as white as possible and also to have the maximum highlighted over-exposure for the the white in the picture. I shot a number of still life pictures with my own shoes and borrowed the boots of one of my classmates.

The f stops varied in the shots from 3.5 – 11.0 and the lenses use were a 50mm prime and18-135mm zoom. For some of the portraits we wheeled out the tripod. Lighting set up below – Sylights app:

image

Product still life. Playing a little here with depth of field. I specifically did not take it straight on, to allow for the boots to be properly shown in the background even though they were blurred.

image

Here we started playing around with the boots, slippers and my shoes.

image
image

These were the best of the still life ones and I like the contrast of my red laces against the black shoes… hence why I have them like that. But it is different when you see it like this as opposed to wearing it. In the first one  the lighting, it is stronger on the left hand side than the right – providing some contrast so that no two pairs look the same lighting wise, irrespective of their position in the picture.

In the second one, the lighting is more even on both sides, casting somewhat symmetrical shadows. But in both pictures the hedgehog slippers are slightly over-exposed.

The next set of pictures involved my classmates modelling for me (their permission to post these pictures was sought and granted – thank you boys!) So we have some with movement and some static – but all of them were fun.

image

Very serene and peaceful. I specifically wanted to take this picture at an angle and not overheard to bring a different perspective.

image
image

I call these my “fabulous baker boys” poses 🙂 you can make out the crease in the backdrop paper here!!!

image

Praying for forgiveness.

image

Here we see the playful side of my model – the things you can do with hedgehog slippers 🙂 And this has given me some ideas for the second part of task 2 of the project which is to produce an advert for the product we have been assigned.

image

This is my favourite. I like the fact that the eyes cannot be seen – just two dark pits and the line of the nose – the shadows are specific and you only have a sense of sterness of the model. You can also see the unevenness of the lighting, the left side being slightly brighter than the right side.

image
image
image

We have three here with movement. In particular the first of the three you can see a “transparency” in the movement.

image
image
image

These last two are cute as my model is seeking to hide within the slippers 🙂

What you would have noted from all of the colour pictures is that even though the backdrop was white, there is a brownish/yellow colour cast which I tried to adjust when taking the subsequent picture. Although they appeared more white on my camera display, this was less true for mac screen.

