I remembered my red shoes this week, so they got an outing in class. One of the main issues I/we encountered was to get the background as white as possible without blowing the cream coloured insole… so I attempted to correct some of this in post production… not  very successfully in my view. The second light source used in some of the pictures was used with a snoot to provide directed light.

image

The lighting diagram

image

f5.6 0.4″ ISO 100 62mm

image

f5.0 1/100 ISO 100 48mm

The best white colour achieved of all the pictures taken.

image

f5.6  1/100 ISO 100 135mm

Here I was interested in the shadows cast by the laces… and in post production I purposely blew out the white and red to increase the contrast, so it has elements of feelings of being over processed.

image

f5.6 1/100 ISO 100 55mm

In this picture, the soft box light to the right was pulled away from object and the power turned down to allow for the shadow to form, as well as me standing in between the light source to intensify the shadow.

I had two opportunities to shoot the products that other class mates have to use for their projects and I was good to discuss product placement and ideas for how they wanted to do things…. so a few shots of that below.

Vinyl… brought back memories of when I used to DJ at university 🙂  I like the first and third pictures best because I managed to catch the light on the edge of two of the records from the soft box flash… which gives that which edge to what is essentially black. But the middle picture has the best shine on the records of the three pictures.

image
image
image

We had fun marking the background paper with the kiss… just to clarify, those are not my lips 🙂

image
image

I was aiming in the second picture to capture the reflection of the kiss in the mirror.. and I like the fact that it is not clear but slightly fuzzy.

The last set of pictures were courtesy of classmate who is a fan of red shoes, so was happy to model and consent to these being posted to the blog… what really accentuates the composition is that she was wearing black tights, so it provides and immediate contrast.

image

Ignore the paint spots on the background… that was not us!!!

image

I really like this one not just because of the whiteness of the background, but the reflection of the heel in the compact mirror, but also the fleeting image of the fingers holding the calf in the top right hand corner of the picture.

