You will have noticed that I have a few prior posts which involve chiaroscuro lighting….in particular the post about Freddy Fabris. Well I thought it was about time I did some practice as I am thinking about this kind of lighting for the project. I was further inspired by my classmate’s presentation on Steve Richard and the chiaroscuro lighting they used in the their pictures.

I started of with straightforward still life shots of some daffodils that were growing nearby. I lieu of my proper soft box arriving later in the week, I got all Blue Peter’ish and made two of my own from cardboard, bubble wrap and tissue paper. I can safely say the tissue paper one was much better – it had a softer diffusion of light. I also made a basic reflector with cardboard and foil (again in lieu of the reflector I have ordered). I used  two basic set ups – one with a reflector and one without. To be honest, I preferred the pictures without the reflector.

 

image
image

The daffodil series – some shots were taken with my macro lens. I kept the aperture between f7.0 and f9.0 and the shutter speed 1/100 and 1/200. What I am really happy with was the fact that the background was really black in most of the pictures in camera, so I did not have to push it too much in post processing.

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

After the flowers I moved onto the project subject – shoes and took a couple of the red heels and one of my new OCR trainers…

image
image
image

I am quite happy with the level of dark and light in these pictures, in particular in the picture above – with the trainer. You get a hint of the tread on the left hand side and more on right – obviously because of the light source.

Finally, I thought that I could move onto some self-portraits. These are quite moody (I think so, although I attempted a smile in the first one). I’m not entirely sure that I got the balance right in terms of light and dark, skin being more difficult to balance in my view that fabric or flowers.

image
image
image
image
