I was directed to this photographer’s website by a post on Facebook. He has three separate portfolios of work on there and this is one of them. Putting aside the subject matter – which is moving and tragic as well as engendering as rising sense of anger – I also sought to concentrate on how the pictures were taken. 

In this work, as with the other two portfolios, he uses black and white to portray his subjects and the subject matter. This brings a sense of documentary journalism but also a sense of intimacy to his work. His use of lighting (looking at the pictures, he is “manipulating” natural light) in my view is creative and in many cases very haunting. While I am loathe to say I have a favourite picture given what he covers, the picture below would fall into that category. 

image

© Mario Cruz

image

© Mario Cruz

This picture tells you so much without a human subject being present in the frame. In my mind it is disturbing on many levels: who is chained? why are they chained? why do they need to be chained?

image

© Mario Cruz

This picture has the jarring feature of movement that is not in focus. 

image

© Mario Cruz

image

© Mario Cruz

This is one of the saddest pictures I have seen in a long while. The sense of loneliness and despair comes through so strong……

image

© Mario Cruz

His work is not easy to view and nor should it be!!!

