On Saturday, I went out with the Simple Street Photography meet up group to Dungeness, Kent for a photowalk. I have been meaning to get out there with the group for a while, but the dates have never been convenient. Apart from the getting there by public transport, which is a little tedious, it is well worth the trip. We had some light rain and sunshine, but it was generally overcast, so the sky was washed out. Our host asked the question on the way there as to whether we had any thoughts on what we would take pictures of. I was fairly open minded, until he mentioned that he has been there over 20 times in the past 2 years – and he has now focused on textures, going in close. On reflection, I thought this was a good idea, so in the main, that’s what I did – with the odd landscape and wider shot thrown in for good measure. I definitely want to go back and stay longer, preferably watching the sun go down.

Anyway, below a selection of edits…. and yes there is a correlation to the project as I may well use some of the textures as backgrounds if I decide to overlay pictures…. another germ of an idea to join the others milling around in my head about how to tackle this project. Of course, I am quite happy with the ones I’ve posted here, but there are others I’m less happy with.. I’ll post a contact sheet of those later in the blog.

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image

Finally, I sought to work with depth of field of some of the shots, so not as to make them all “flat”.

This blog post covers assessment criteria references for Unit 2: 2.1 and 2.2

