This is one of the images that I want to layer for the project…. it’s my niece’s first holy communion dress (a ceremony she will be going through later this month). The idea is to layer several versions of the dress each one aligned slightly differently to give it an ethereal, but unnerving quality

image
image

This second shot is the first run at layering which of has the semblance of an ethereal quality but as you can see, I’m having issues with the hard edges of each layer which in and of itself makes the photo somewhat interesting but somewhat amateur … so I will try again because if i want to this with structures i will run into the same issues… photoshop tutorials here I come.

CORRECTION – I’ll read the handouts Zig provided first and then if I’m still stuck I’ll do a tutorial search 🙂

UPDATE: 

I was possibly too ambitious the first time around as I wanted to layer different post production versions of the shots – which led to lighter and darker layers and the hard lines. So I decided below to only layer one shot and the effect is better… there are a few hard lines, but much less than the picture above. The first one is simply layered with masks and me playing around with the opacity. The second includes the addition of a curves adjustment layer and the final one (just to see how it would come out) has a invert adjustment layer – which is growing on me more, although you can see the individual layer edges much more. We are getting closer to what I want to achieve, but we’re not there just yet.

image
image
image

As always, I had another interpretive idea on the way home on the tube (yes inspiration strikes in the most mundane of spaces/places) but I’m not sure if I’ll run with that idea…. watch this space if i decide to take it up….

SECOND UPDATE:

I came across this website on via a link on Facebook and this photographer’s work epitomises what I am trying in some respects to achieve…and he takes his pictures all on the iPhone …..

http://www.chriskovacsphotography.com

“Chris’ photography focuses primarily on scenes containing elements of architecture and people. Chris captures “in camera” multiple-exposures of the same scene from different angles and later combines several multiple-exposure photographs together to form a single image.

When asked about his photographic style Chris responds “It’s Multiplexualization.” Multiplexualization is a term Chris has coined. It is the digital layering of many different multiple-exposure photographs to form a single image which deliberately depicts a dreamlike quality. Multiplex, in this case, means: many elements in a complex relationship, where ualization represents the single, final image–the deliberate dreamlike visual.

All of the images featured on this website were taken with an iPhone 5s.”

A couple of his pictures are below.

image

© Chris Kovacs

image

© Chris Kovacs

What I like about his work is not just the multiple exposures, but also the fact that it is in black and white and the blacks are quite dark – supposedly we do not dream in colour (although how they know that for sure I have no idea). Taking this principle forward, the monochrome nature of his work, aids and adds to the dream-like mood.

This blog post covers assessment criteria references for Unit 2: 1.1 and 2.2

