Last Thursday, which was a lovely sunny day, I headed off to Highgate Cemetery (my first visit). As always (cemeteries) it was peaceful, serene and allowed for some interesting pictures to be taken of gravestones, tombs and the odd mausoleum. The task I set myself was to only use my prime 50mm lens for all the shots. It was challenging but fun as meant i had to physically move in and out to zoom and there were some shots that were not possible in terms of how I wanted them to come out (primarily macro). This is something I will definitely do again as it takes me out of my comfort zone of zooming and forces me to crop in camera and think much more about my composition and what I want to achieve.

We stayed in the East Cemetery as we had tripods which are not allowed in the West Cemetery (which is guided tour only), so a return visit is to be arranged. I converted some shots to black and white during the editing process.

image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
image
