Last week I headed off to Autograph ABP gallery to see the exhibition by Mario Cravo Neto. They had a small selection of his black and white, and colour work on opposite sides of the gallery wall. I was really taken by his black and white work which I found to be soft in contrast to the harder more intensely detailed work of someone like Lee Jeffries. The exhibition runs until 2 April and is not large so can be done in about 20 mins or so.

image

© Mario Cravo Neto

image

© Mario Cravo Neto – this is one of my favourite pictures and one I will admit to interpreting in my own way at some point in the future. She appears to be so serene and at peace, I find this picture very calming, although I wonder whether it is meant to be.

image

© Mario Cravo Neto

image

© Mario Cravo Neto – I like the movement in this picture.

image

© Mario Cravo Neto –  I am drawn to the lighting in this one, and the contrast of the yellow plastic film.

image

© Mario Cravo Neto

The second exhibition was of work by Maud Sulter which I admit i found challenging. As well having the audio of her reading out a poem she had written, her photomontage work (Syrcas) was exhibited. To be totally honest, I did not get it and this is despite reading the write up…. maybe its just me. But it was interesting nonetheless.

image

© Maud Sulter

image

© Maud Sulter

image

© Maud Sulter

