Yesterday I finally made the step up to a full frame sensor for DSLR… I purchased a Canon 6D. Now as much as I would love to have got the new Canon 5D Mark IV as this is a hobby not a profession, I could not justify paying over £3,500 body only. And as I wanted the wifi/smartphone remote feature without buying an additional accessory, that left me with the 6D. In fairness, I’ve had my eye on the 6D since late last year…I am aware that Canon are due to release a 6D Mark II sometime in 2017, but I am not prepared to wait.

Armed with my new 50mm 1.4 lens (others are on order) I went outside the front door to take a few test shots after I got the wifi working – note to Canon: the wifi setup is not intuitive at all. The first thing I noticed was the difference in the shutter sound, it makes my 60D sound positively analogue. The second thing was exposure. I had tended to under-expose my shots in camera on the 60D and then deal with this in post production. However, on the 6D the under-exposure is much more pronounced. I am assuming that this is both due to the camera and the lens – both being of a higher quality of what I was using before. So I will have to watch this generally when using the camera, so that pictures are not too dark before processing. The final thing was with the lens itself, this 50mm one feels completely different to the 1.8 version – you can feel it in the build quality and in its operation. I see that I’m back on a learning curve, which is no bad thing.

I am looking forward to getting to know this camera like my trusty old 60D which has been retired from use by me for the moment, while I get used to the new camera. It will most likely be on eBay soon.

My 6D test shots are below and I can already see the increased quality in terms of details captured.

 

