So the second set of first cut pictures from the weekend photo shoots. This was done at home using studio lights (flash guns). The shoot proved to be more challenging than I thought it would be. I had too many shots that were either blown out (flash too close/power up too high) or they were too dark (not close enough/power down too low). That’s apart from having to dig out the manual and work out how to get the wireless triggers to talk to each other. But putting technical hitches aside it was an enjoyable shoot.

Discussions were had about: the hierarchy of quality within the leather community  starting at the top with Langlitz and moving through the ranks to what can be purchased in the high street or the market; how the addition of a riding crop or restraints will instantly create the perception and the association between leather and S&M and how the two are not necessarily linked; and the hanky code. This was interspersed with the changes in outfit and what should be paired with what.

My initial thoughts on how I would blend this aspect into the over theme of People and the Environment are changing. I was going to look at leather literally as skin and where it comes from (predominately cows and pigs). Then to explore the environmental impact of deforestation (in relation to creating pasture for cows to graze) – which would link the micro to the macro. However, as my discussion with my model developed, I am more interested in how leather is worn as skin, to create an identity and that environment that this identity is posited in. It is unlikely to mean photo shoots with other people modelling leather, as it is more about using the shots I already have to explore my new perspective.

And the cigar… well the smoke does make some for some interesting shots.

Assignment criteria: 2, 4 & 5

