There are two things I have discovered; one – sometimes is less is more; two – interpreting classical still life is just not my bag… I took some shots this weekend at home and tried a different route… no flash, only black for the table and rearranging the composition to make it less tight. I decided on basing the composition around the colour wheel with yellow in the centre.

But I am not happy with them at all – I’ve only posted four above.

The good: I  did like the half coconut filled with okra and the cut papaya and mango, so there an option of using cut fruit and being a little more creative from that aspect might work; I do like the range of strong primary and secondary colours; and the differing textures.

The not so good a.k.a the bad: The lighting is bland (although I have not gone in heavy on the post-production editing); the arrangement is just bleurgh despite the contrast in colour, textures and shapes. It seems too cluttered, just thrown together without structure and thought. And I did think about where I was placing items and what I wanted to achieve. And the background did not work… the muted gold and the black just do not work well in this setup. So I will have to think hard and fast about how I am going to compose this picture, what I will use and how I will light it… I only have 2 weeks left!!!! Wish me luck.

So I will have to think hard and fast about how I am going to compose this picture, what I will use and how I will light it… I only have 2 weeks left, time is running out – thank goodness the classical portrait and the Cruel & Tender components of the project are almost completed.

 

