I have not posted that many holiday pics on here, but to be fair I have not done much but relax and chill with the family (and nearly daily visits to the beach). Anyway, today I had planned to be more active and redid a hiking trail I did over 10+ years ago, prior to the devastation caused by Hurricane Thomas when it hit Saint Lucia in 2010. This is the Enbas Saut hike and waterfall which is run by the Forestry Department of the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries, Physical Planning, Natural Resources and Co-operatives. This is a relatively short hike 5kms…… except that you travel down 1000ft and back up 1000ft… so I can vouch for the fact that it is a workout, especially on the way up.

My guide Heather, pointed trees, plants and wildlife (when we saw it). So I learnt a few new things… for example the tree that produces Frankincense and a poisonous fruit that only the St Lucian Parrot eats…. and then the clay it consumes afterwards to neutralise the toxins in the poison. I was going to the hike across the island straight afterwards, but my body was telling my mind a firm “HELL NO” – so that I will leave for another day, another trip back. But as always, it was great, appreciating the beauty of Mother Nature and even bathing in the not-so-cold EnBas Saut waterfall… it was a lot warmer than I remember on the last occasion.

