In class this week we continued our discussions about how to approach the project and Zig was showing us some of his work from his website. Time lapse photography, as opposed to videography came up. We were tasked this week to take time lapse stills and then post process them in class this coming Thursday. Bissy was first off the mark with a sunset time lapse which was good, first attempt. The thing is many of my classmates have Nikon cameras, some of which have a time lapse feature built in, but I do not have that in any of my Canon cameras. While browsing on my phone I came across Magic Lantern, a programme that runs alongside Canon firmware that provides Canon cameras with an array of additional features, including an ‘intervalometer’ that allows for time lapse still photographs without the need for a remote trigger.

Magic Lantern comes with a warning that the addition of this firmware can damage your camera, so there was no way I was installing it on my relatively new 6D. However, my trusty EOS M came to the rescue, as I would be a little less upset if it caused it to malfunction… that would be a good excuse to considering buying an updated model… :O Anyway, ML installed, I decided to test it out today given that it was quite breezy. I thought at first I would focus on the trees and sky across the road. Heeding Bissy’s warning that you should run any time lapse project on a fully charged battery, I swapped mine up, set up and left the intervals on 1 shot per second. I used my 20mm wide angle prime lens on the EOS mount. I was somewhat concerned that it would not capture the movement as I was seeing it with the naked eye. That combined with my impatience meant that I let it run for about 700 shots before I stopped and swapped it for my 100mm macro prime lens. I adjusted the intervals to 2 secs and aimed for some flowers that are planted at chest height and are next to the pavement. It meant that I would also capture the passers-by. I decided to be more patient and I let this run until the battery died… the EOS M is live view only and so this will be more taxing on battery life than those cameras where live view can be switched off.

We were to bring the shots into class to edit in Adobe Premiere, but I could not wait that long, I wanted to see what they looked like so I could at least satisfy myself everything was working as it should be. So after a quick Google search for tutorials on how to create a time lapse video with iMovie, I uploaded the pictures to iMovie and eventually created two clips. Two things to note with iMovie – the default transition for picture clips is 4 seconds so that was changed to 0.1 seconds and your have to turn off the Ken Burns zoom feature in the crop menu. I was left with two clips – one of 2 mins + and one of 5 mins + It is much easier to trim content in Quick Time Player, so I exported the full videos to that application and trimmed them there. So I would love to present my first attempts at time lapse photography, but I have a basic WordPress account which does not support video uploads. They are not going to win any awards, but we all have to start somewhere…. and you will have to take my word for it that I completed the task 🙂 The slight jerkiness of the second video was due to me leaving on autofocus for a while when I started the video and the camera deciding to re-focus as a result. Will remember to switch it off once focus has been achieved.

PS: you can see the flower time-lapse video on my Instagram feed – search for onculsiphotography on Instagram or look on the right-hand side of my blog page for the feed link (if you are not accessing this site through the WordPress reader).

PPS: Seeing what Bissy and Lolliolly achieved via YouTube, I’ve joined them, setting up my own channel.

Assignment criteria: 1, 2, 4 & 5

