Yes… because I wanted to, I have ordered the Intrepid 4 x 5 large format camera. The idea of venturing into large format photography is a little daunting but I am looking forward to it. When I went to Cass Summer Show, at London Metropolitan University  last weekend, I saw some great examples of 4×5 work enlarged and it made me quite excited to experiment with this type of analogue camera.

I am hoping it will arrive in advance of my next trip to Tuscany where I intend to use it to take some landscape shots and maybe a few of the village and town squares. I have already purchased a lens – Rodenstock Grandagon 90mm f/6.8 MC Lens in Synchro-Compur 0 Shutter; Fidelity film holders; and some Ilford HP5+ PLUS 4×5 Large Format Sheet Film. My rocket air blower and changing bag are on order. As my lens came ‘sans’ lens board, I have ordered one from Intrepid.

© Intrepid Camera

I have not yet thought too hard about developing and printing – but I do have my eye on a Epson scanner… and I think that will be purchased if I get into this, like I want to get into this. The next lens purchase will be for close up/head shot portrait photography so looking at 240mm up to 300mm and finally a 150mm lens. Might just have to get myself onto darkroom film processing course…. suggestions welcome.

 

